10 Reasons Why Your Fitness Business Isn’t at £30k/month Yet…

[…#7 will be *eye-opening* for any fit pro]

I’ve always seen £30k a month as a great benchmark for a local fitness business to meet.

Because with managed expenses & a healthy profit margin, this amount gives the owner a great income, covers all costs and allows cashflow to grow a team and go on to become the “go-to” brand of their local area.

But right now, if seems like a wild fantasy?

If you’re overworked & overwhelmed?

And no matter how long & hard you work your fitness business only scrapes by each month?

Then there’s a few things you should know.

From FAILING in my first fitness business… to later building gyms to £30k/m and higher… here are the vital things I WISH I’d known sooner:

 Accept that business skill needs to be your focus now, not more certifications.

Study business / marketing TWICE as much as you do technical fitness / nutrition knowledge.

 Discover what business you’re REALLY in…

Because its not fitness.

I discovered years ago that I was in the business of behaviour change and confidence building. That’s what my clients were truly seeking.

To this day we tell our clients on the first day, that our program is only 1% fitness & nutrition. Its 99% about mindset.

 You don’t need to become a ‘sales ninja’.

Instead, let your testimonial results do most of your marketing.

And let your trial programs do most of your selling.

 Don’t say how great you are… DEMONSTRATE how great you are

While other trainers in my area were bitching over who had the most certs or knowledge… I was busy getting people into shape.

I use short-term programs that allow the prospect to ‘test-drive’ what we do, usually a 21-day, 28-day or even 6-week program.

Front End Offers like this work because they overcome the two biggest objections people have at the start – time & money.

Do a great job here and you’ll be able to convert at least 40% of the FEO prospects onto long term commitments.

 Two numbers you need to know: LTV & CAC

CAC – customer acquisition cost. How much are you spending to acquire ONE sale?

For example, if I spend £100 on advertising to get 10 trial prospects, then 2 of them become long-term clients, my CAC is £50.

If you have other costs associated with the sale, such as sales commission, include that too.

LTV – Life Time Value of a client.

How much is a long-term client actually worth?

If you charge £100/month for bootcamp and a typical client retains for 6 months, your LTV is at least £600.

So, if you’re investing £50 to gain a client who’ll return £600 back in the next 6 months, you’d be happy right? 

 Build your business as if you intend to sell it

You don’t need to… but its best to build this way anyway.

Because then you have to ask different questions.

Instead of asking, “What else can I do myself to grow this?”, you then ask, “WHO do I need to help with this part of the business?”

The first question (around YOU) leads to burnout.

The second question leads to freedom.

 Pay yourself each month

Set yourself a salary / retainer at a fixed amount. I always thought I was doing the ‘noble’ thing of living on peanut butter sandwiches and sleeping on my gym floor… but later realized the error of that.

(When I got schooled by a man who grew a $180million a year business!)

See, if you don’t pay yourself something first, you’re just sacrificing yourself.

And the business NEEDS YOU to be healthy, fit and focused. You’re the leader. The king or queen of your business!

Secondly, the problem with not paying yourself for the roles you do means the company won’t be able to afford to OUTSOURCE those roles if you ever wanted (or NEEDED) to step out.

When you calculate all your expenses needed to be covered, like rent, marketing, equipment leases etc. also add YOUR SALARY as a cost to cover too (before profit).

Now you have a more accurate target of what the business needs to make each month for you to take the first step to freedom.

Because if they business can’t pay YOU to do all the work you do, then it can’t pay anybody else either…

 You’re not connecting with your audience

When I started out I thought I’d compete based on the intellect of my content.

I dropped FB posts, videos & blogs about macro-nutrients, EPOC, and all this other stuff I *thought* my audience would give a crap about.

Turns out they don’t. Because fitness is NOT their day job.

When I realized they want CONNECTION more than information – it all changed.

I’d get INSTANT engagement, enquires and emotion-filled emails from prospects.

I started talking about the OBSTACLES they face when getting in shape – and NOT judging them for them.

People only care how much you know, once they know how much you care.

Now fitness trainers use my Content Strategy and their jaws DROP at the boost in engagement & response they get (without any ‘copywriting’ skills)

 You’re acting from the mindset of freelancer, not a business owner

When you’re a PT you just want to become self-employed to replace your sucky job at the gym.

But when you decide to grow a real business to create wealth & freedom for your family… things must change.

YOU must change.

Here’s an example of the difference between Solopreneur and Entrepreneur:

 The solopreneur says: “I can’t trust other coaches, they’ll steal from me”

 The entrepreneur says: “I will make this the BEST place for trainers to gain a career here, so they’ll never want to leave”

 Solopreneur says: “I have to take charge of all areas of the business – leads, sales, coaching and admin, because nobody else cares about the business as much as I do.”

 Entrepreneur says: “I have to focus on what I’m absolutely best at and what’s most profitable – likely creating content & leading the team to fulfil our grander Vision. I’ll hire specialists to take care of the things I can’t do – because I’ll never care as much about the technical things as they do.”

 Solopreneur: “I hate numbers so I’ll ignore my finances.”

 Entrepreneur: “I hate numbers but they MUST be done, just like our clients track their workouts / diet for best results. I can’t be a hypocrite. So if I need help, clarity and guidance on this I should hire a coach or mentor too…”

🔟 Give your paying clients 5X more time / attention than your unconverted prospects.

When marketing, sales, tracking and all that other ‘stuff’ is being done by your team, you’ll REVIVE your passion and get stuck into making your program the best creation ever.

Our gym training programs carry an 85% – 90% success rate. Meaning that percentage of clients get a specific, promised result.

That’s how much we care about getting transformational results for the people we help. Because we’re always asking feedback, making changes / additions to the program, and tracking the results.

Thats how you get to the top and STAY on top as the leading transformation center of your area.

When you’re ready for mentoring to guide you to grow a real business that gives you financial certainty & more freedom… here’s how we can help you: 

➡️ A business diagnostic & mentoring session (£0.00) 

This is a free service for a limited time. You’ll be given a 5-page questionnaire that asks a lot of TOUGH uncomfortable questions about your fitness business.

Then, me & my team manually review your results to provide an action plan to move you forward quickly.

Then, you’ll be given a mentoring session with my expert team of advisors (who have real experience running successful local brick n’ mortar & online businesses) to talk you through your diagnostic results, and the prescription of action.

NOTE: There is NO obligation to buy anything, and this is really not a sales pitch at ALL. However if you like the plan & would like to explore options to work with us to implement it, please let your advisor know on the call.

Investment – £0.00 (limited time only)

➡️ The 4-Week Fitness Lead-Generator Intensive 

In this brand new program we just launched, we take 10 trainers through a 4-week intensive to set up ALL your marketing and sales systems – and get FB ads running profitably for your business.

We’ve just kicked off the first round, and the fitness pros are getting new leads & sales already – plus they’re “waking up” to how SIMPLE it is to get a consistent stream of leads to your business.

Next program starts very soon! find all the details here <<<

➡️ The 1-Year Mastermind Mentorship 

This is the real deal. 12 months working with me & my team of copywriters, website & email CRM tech wizards, FB ads, LinkedIn and Youtube experts, and other trainers just like you who’ve transformed their businesses using our system, and are willing to contribute back to help you too.

The Mastermind mentorship involves weekly coaching sessions, some 1-1 time with a coach, and also TWO retreat events per year (valued at over £7000 – all included in your investment).

Investment: $4000 upfront, or a finance plan of 12 monthly instalments of only $416.

See everything you’re getting in the Mastermind mentorship here: http://justindevonshire.com/ebb-mastermind/

Reach out to me if you have questions about any of these options 

 

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